Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
Batty
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Batty » Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:09 pm

Granamir wrote:- sx_swingdoor_clickable has animation problem on initial state, if u set them open they seems closed, even if u can go trough them; if u close them hey disappear to start closing animation
- another issue with swingdoor is that i can close them via script but cannot open ("trying to compare number to nil" error)
You have to use the Controller class to operate the swingdoor. So, use:

Code: Select all

ControllerComponent:open()
ControllerComponent:close()
ControllerComponent:toggle()

Granamir
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:19 pm

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Granamir » Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:43 pm

Batty wrote:
Granamir wrote:- sx_swingdoor_clickable has animation problem on initial state, if u set them open they seems closed, even if u can go trough them; if u close them hey disappear to start closing animation
- another issue with swingdoor is that i can close them via script but cannot open ("trying to compare number to nil" error)
You have to use the Controller class to operate the swingdoor. So, use:

Code: Select all

ControllerComponent:open()
ControllerComponent:close()
ControllerComponent:toggle()
either: sx_swingdoor_clickable_5.door:open()
or: sx_swingdoor_clickable_5.components:open()
give me same error: attempt to compare number with nil

instead: sx_swingdoor_clickable_5.door:close()
works
but: sx_swingdoor_clickable_5.components:close()
give me: attempt to index field 'components' (a nil value)

obviously i set door initial state close when i try to open and open when i try to close

Batty
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Batty » Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:12 pm

right, try this then:

Code: Select all

sx_swingdoor_clickable_5.controller:open()
sx_swingdoor_clickable_5.controller:close()
sx_swingdoor_clickable_5.controller:toggle()
Do not use the Door class & do not use "initial state" in the inspector, this isn't an ordinary door.

Look at the object's definition to understand how it works.

User avatar
Eleven Warrior
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:32 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Eleven Warrior » Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:37 am

Hi all.

Thxs for answering that quest Batty. Ok I have added Barrel Chest to this collection. It behaves like a chest you click on the barrel and you can see inside it, add item to the Barrel. I have bearrels that explode and when smashed the have items inside and I thought why not have a barrel that you click on and you can see inside it. So I asked Skuggs if it's possible an Dammm big bang it is awesome :)

Ok enjoy the Barrel, I hope ill have one that when you click on the Barrel it opens up like a Container Item with Slots - but you cant take the Bareel of the ground yeah lol.

Barrel Chest by: Skuggsvein.

1 - Do not put spears or long items in the Barrel as the protrude through the barrel add small items eg: bread, gloves, potions etc..

Granamir
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:19 pm

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Granamir » Sat Feb 07, 2015 1:32 pm

Thank you Batty, it work prfectly.
Sorry i didn't try by miself...i misread components for controller. :P

EDIT:
Ok i'v tryed better and it doesn't work, got 'trying to compare number with nil value' error.
It's incredible but first try i did i did with a door with initial state open and i didn't see it...
Btw it works if u set initial state of door open and also use the script to open it.

bongobeat
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 5:58 pm
Location: France

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by bongobeat » Mon Feb 09, 2015 5:31 pm

Hey Eleven,

there is something wrong in the sx_indoor_stairs_up_2 object definition:

you have set

Code: Select all

baseObject = "base_stairs_down",
for a stair up.
I guess it should be base_stairs_up

also, what is the need to have 2 sx_town_indoor tile? (sx_town_indoor and sx_town_indoor_2)
I don't know if it is intended but when you place the sx_town_indoor tile (with floor 0 and ceil 1), ceilings are on the same height than the floors. :?:

For the sx_town_indoor_2 the ceilings are well placed.

finally how do I use the simple_stairs object? whatever I do, there is no walls on the side.
My asset pack: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=9320

Log1 mod : Toorum Manor: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5505

User avatar
Eleven Warrior
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:32 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Eleven Warrior » Thu Feb 12, 2015 3:48 am

Hi bongo sorry for taking so long to answer my bad :(

1 - Ok the stair are incorrectly named and they should be called as you said base_stairs_down. I missed that and thxs for the report.
2 - Yeah the Draw tiles are a small problem so just use the ones that work.
3 - Simple stairs are just stairs with no walls, so you need to use the sx_town_wall object and place it -1 for height. If you used the original sx from log1 there were some walls that were lowered for the stairs. I did not add these objects as log 2 allows you to lower objects within the game now thank god for that :). If you are still having problems ill make a demo of how the stairs work for you ok just pm me bro np at all :)

User avatar
Duncan1246
Posts: 404
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:42 pm

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Duncan1246 » Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:42 pm

Thanks a lot for your work and specially for the "simple_stairs" feeting perfectly my needs... Only one issue: pillars added at the end of the stairs can't be visibles... did you know why?
Duncan
The Blue Monastery (LOG1)
download at:http://www.nexusmods.com/grimrock/mods/399/?

Finisterrae(LOG2)
download at:http://www.nexusmods.com/legendofgrimrock2/mods/61/?

User avatar
Duncan1246
Posts: 404
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:42 pm

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Duncan1246 » Sat Feb 14, 2015 6:24 pm

Adding to precedent post: view of stairs (with the pillar hole), view of Aerion Inn, parts of a mod I works on...
Edit:deleted
Duncan
Last edited by Duncan1246 on Tue Oct 27, 2015 5:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Blue Monastery (LOG1)
download at:http://www.nexusmods.com/grimrock/mods/399/?

Finisterrae(LOG2)
download at:http://www.nexusmods.com/legendofgrimrock2/mods/61/?

User avatar
Eleven Warrior
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:32 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Wall Sets LOG 1 Ported over to LOG 2

Post by Eleven Warrior » Sun Feb 15, 2015 9:40 am

Hi Duncan.

Yeah I am having that same problem in fact your stairs are used the same in my mod lol :) I don know how to fix this problem I have tried for days eg:

1 - killPillars = true, and killPillars = false, doesn't work.
2 - I tried to even make a second set of stairs just as a floor object, but without the baseObject = "base_stairs_down", and this does not work as well.

I am having a lot of problems with the stairs and wish badly to fix them :? If there is anyone out there in forum land who can help with this issue please do thxs.

As for your interior house walls add pillars to cover those gaps between the walls, windows and door etc...

Post Reply