Page 15 of 15

Re: [WIP] GrimTK GUI Framework

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 9:14 pm
by ratman
In my mod I have a pressure plate where when the party steps on it, it starts a dialogue, but when they step on it it gives me an error saying 'attempt to call field 'startDialogue' (a nil value)'. Thanks

Re: [WIP] GrimTK GUI Framework

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:39 pm
by Isaac
A nil value basically means that it doesn't exist; your mod is calling for something that either doesn't exist, or the location/pathname for it is wrong.

More than that needs more details.

Re: [WIP] GrimTK GUI Framework

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 3:27 am
by ratman
I took out an asset pack I had in my dungeon, and it works now.

Re: [WIP] GrimTK GUI Framework

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 5:46 am
by Isaac
Objects can be redefined if they appear more than once during initialization/loading. It might be that an object altered/defined by GrimTK was redefined without the startDialog function.

More likely the mod you removed redefined the same object.

Re: [WIP] GrimTK GUI Framework

Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 1:14 am
by ratman
I have another question, but I'm not sure if this is the right place to post it. Is it possible to make it so that some dialogue options are only available if the party has a high enough stat/skill? Example: The party is walking through a dungeon when they come to a cave in. The dialogue comes, asking them if they want to walk away, or if their athletics or strength is high enough, to clear it away to unlock some treasure. Is this possible with minimal scripting? Thanks. :D