Modding original game

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
hovergoat
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:45 am

Modding original game

Post by hovergoat » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:50 am

I wanted to play through the original game using a custom class and race. Is this currently possible?/Will it be possible?

minmay
Posts: 2656
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: Modding original game

Post by minmay » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:10 am

You can load the original dungeon in the editor by changing the dungeonFolder in a .dungeon_editor file to "assets/dungeons/grimrock2".

With an init.lua and dungeon.lua you can make actual modifications and export them, but I don't know if we are allowed to distribute said init.lua and dungeon.lua, so I won't upload them.
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.

hovergoat
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Modding original game

Post by hovergoat » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:23 am

This looks like a great way to learn LoG level editing as well. Thank you :D

NutJob
Posts: 426
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:35 pm

Re: Modding original game

Post by NutJob » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:38 am

I wish I knew this 341 hours ago (so says my Steam account lol). I think I learned more in the last few minutes then I did all this weekend.

User avatar
Drakkan
Posts: 1317
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:25 am

Re: Modding original game

Post by Drakkan » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:47 am

just wow
Breath from the unpromising waters.
Eye of the Atlantis

hovergoat
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Modding original game

Post by hovergoat » Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:34 am

minmay wrote:With an init.lua and dungeon.lua you can make actual modifications and export them
This doesn't seem to be working for me. It looks like changing the dungeonFolder path also changes where the scripts are loaded from :/

minmay
Posts: 2656
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: Modding original game

Post by minmay » Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:35 am

As in, with the original dungeon.lua in your own dungeonFolder path outside of grimrock2.dat.
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.

hovergoat
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Modding original game

Post by hovergoat » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:40 am

Got it working! Thanks. It looked like it was missing an object define, but I think I can live without the world_map

User avatar
JKos
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:03 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Modding original game

Post by JKos » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:45 pm

That's a really cool finding minmay. Let's see what AH says about this, my guess is that this possibility is left there intentionally.
- LoG Framework 2http://sites.google.com/site/jkoslog2 Define hooks in runtime by entity.name or entity.id + multiple hooks support.
- cloneObject viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8450

Batty
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: Modding original game

Post by Batty » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:33 pm

Takes a good 10-15 seconds to start after you click play :) and my system is fairly good. I think AH allowed it intentionally too.

It's interesting to see some of the devs leftover design decision comments.

Post Reply