Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
LunasC
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:46 pm

Re:file not found mod_assest_models...

Post by LunasC » Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:07 pm

SpoilerShow
Image
I have tried so many things. I just cannot get it to take any custom assets.

User avatar
Isaac
Posts: 2996
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Isaac » Sun Dec 13, 2015 1:56 am

What OS are you running? (Windows is not case sensitive, but Lua is). Make certain ~before anything else, that file path you give is absolutely accurate [and with correct letter case for each character]. The game is complaining that it cannot find the file specified by the name and/or path.

minmay
Posts: 2697
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by minmay » Sun Dec 13, 2015 2:21 am

also that the file's permissions are correct
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.

User avatar
LunasC
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:46 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by LunasC » Sun Dec 13, 2015 2:56 am

minmay wrote:also that the file's permissions are correct
like if its read only?
Because I still have that windows 10 thing going on.

minmay
Posts: 2697
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by minmay » Sun Dec 13, 2015 3:01 am

doesn't need to be read only, just needs to be readable by the user you're running grimrock as
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.

User avatar
LunasC
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:46 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by LunasC » Sun Dec 13, 2015 4:09 am

minmay wrote:doesn't need to be read only, just needs to be readable by the user you're running grimrock as
it is as far as I know, user is Admin for everything

User avatar
Dr.Disaster
Posts: 2855
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Re:file not found mod_assest_models...

Post by Dr.Disaster » Sun Dec 13, 2015 5:31 am

LunasC wrote:
SpoilerShow
Image
I have tried so many things. I just cannot get it to take any custom assets.
Does the mentioned file "mod_assets/models/ceiling_cover_grate.model" exist?

User avatar
LunasC
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:46 pm

Re: Re:file not found mod_assest_models...

Post by LunasC » Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:09 am

Dr.Disaster wrote:
LunasC wrote:
SpoilerShow
Image
I have tried so many things. I just cannot get it to take any custom assets.
Does the mentioned file "mod_assets/models/ceiling_cover_grate.model" exist?
Yes it is a custom model for I made. I put it in the mod_assets/models folder.
It is a .MODEL file everything seems to check out.

this is not the only thing I have had trouble with. It also will not import sounds.
I have a mono sound for an earth quake that played fine last week and now cannot even be seen by the editor let alone be imported to the game upon its exportation.

minmay
Posts: 2697
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: Re:file not found mod_assest_models...

Post by minmay » Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:53 am

LunasC wrote:Yes it is a custom model for I made. I put it in the mod_assets/models folder.
It is a .MODEL file everything seems to check out.
Well there's your problem. If it's called ceiling_cover_grate.MODEL instead of ceiling_cover_grate.model, then of course the editor won't find ceiling_cover_grate.model, because it doesn't exist.
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.

User avatar
Isaac
Posts: 2996
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Isaac » Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:15 am

Update/correction: It seems that one can add the same connector multiple times; and thus require multiple removals. This is why the removeConnector() didn't work as I had expected.
_____________
SpoilerShow
Is removeConnector bugged when used to remove an onDrawGui connector? (Because it does not seem to actually do it.)

party.party:addConnector("onDrawGui", self.go.id, "hookedFunction") works just fine, but
party.party:removeConnector("onDrawGui", self.go.id, "hookedFunction") does not stop it from being continually called.

Is there another step to this, or a better way to remove the connector? So far the only way that seems to work is to make the hooked function nil, and that's problematic if you want to use it again. A workaround for this is a boolean condition in the function to do work or not, but it still gets called either way.
Last edited by Isaac on Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply