How to test dungeons with a "real" party (not naked)?

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
gambit37

How to test dungeons with a "real" party (not naked)?

Post by gambit37 »

Hi all, I'm new to LoG modding and just started playing with the editor since buying LoG2. I'm an experienced old-school dungeon builder, having built stuff for Dungeon Master (using tools like DMute, RTC and DSB), and maps for games like Doom and Duke3D. You might already know me from the Dungeon Master forums :-)

Anyway, one thing I'm puzzled about in LoG modding is how to test a dungeon using an equipped party of the right experience level? Is there some way of creating a debug party that has different levels of experience and are carrying all the objects you want to test? And is there a way of disabling monster interactions during debugging? Using the basic visual editor, if I test with monsters in place, they just attack the party who have no experience and are wandering about naked and unarmed, so it's a bit unfair... ;-)
Last edited by gambit37 on Mon Oct 27, 2014 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Xanathar

Re: How to test dungeons with a "real" party (not naked)?

Post by Xanathar »

I can tell you how I did it in Log1 for my mod, which is quite longish (~10hrs play time). I suppose with the new features in Log2 (where resuming the preview does not reset the champions) it can get a little easier, but I wouldn't rely on it 100% as you lose state anyway if you restart afaik.

Also, don't take it as a guide.. it's just a documentation of what I did ;)

1) script a cheat function which sets the attributes to impossibly high, but without raising the champion level. Add any quest item to the inventory. Beware of using them, but they might be useful.