addItem issue

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
User avatar
darkwuulf
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:51 am

addItem issue

Post by darkwuulf » Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:28 am

I am certain this has already been answered but my searchfu is failing.

I am trying to script items to spawn onto the surface of an alcove when the key is entered into a nearby lock.

I have everything connected correctly and the key runs the correct script but when the script runs I get the following:

dungeon_alcove_1.surface:addItem(xafi_khakis.item) <<attempt to index global 'xafi_khakis' (a nil value)>>

As far as I can tell I copied the addItem code exactly as found in several tutorial posts. Thank you in advance for any assistance.

*EDIT: I've also tried using the .spawn("xafi_khakis") and I also get an error.

TheLegendaryNarwhal
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: addItem issue

Post by TheLegendaryNarwhal » Sun Oct 26, 2014 4:37 am

I'm not sure about alcoves but I know when doing addItem into an inventory you can't just use the item, you have to give it a position.
So like:

party.party:getChampion(1):insertItem(13, pellet_box_1.item)

where 13 is the 1st characters top leftmost backpack slot. Followed by the item and then declaring it as an item. Also I don't think addItem will work if the item in question doesn't already exist somewhere else in the level(most likely why you get the nil value error). You could get around that by just having a 1x1 room off in a corner somewhere inaccessible that has the item already inside it. Hope this helps somewhat, I have been largely stonewalled trying to get items into inventories or even just using spawn commands personally. 2 hard 4 meh.

User avatar
ScroLL
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Vermont

Re: addItem issue

Post by ScroLL » Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:50 am

Does this work:

Code: Select all

dungeon_alcove_1.surface:addItem(spawn("xafi_khakis").item);

User avatar
darkwuulf
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:51 am

Re: addItem issue

Post by darkwuulf » Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:32 am

I've been playing around with this and so far I can't get the addItem to work unless the item is already on the level. At first I was placing them on the map in side areas where the player couldn't get. Then I discovered the spawn command and combined them into two lines in my script:

Code: Select all

spawn("xafi_khakis",level,0,0,0,0,"xafi_khakis_1")
dungeon_alcove_1.surface:addItem(xafi_khakis_1.item)
This works and I don't have to have the item placed pre-existing on the level. So my final function looks like this:

Code: Select all

function GoldLockRewardOne()
  spawn("dungeon_alcove",level,11,4,0,0,"alcove_gold_reward_1")
  spawn("xafi_khakis",level00,0,0,0,0,"xafi_khakis_1")
  spawn("xafi_robe",level00,0,0,0,0,"xafi_robe_1")
  spawn("sandals",level00,0,0,0,0,"sandals_1")
  spawn("cutlass",level00,0,0,0,0,"cutlass_1")

  alcove_gold_reward_1.surface:addItem(xafi_khakis_1.item)
  alcove_gold_reward_1.surface:addItem(xafi_robe_1.item)
  alcove_gold_reward_1.surface:addItem(sandals_1.item)
  alcove_gold_reward_1.surface:addItem(cutlass_1.item)

  lock_gold_reward_1:destroy()
end
This snippet makes the lock disappear and an alcove appear in a specific location with a specific set of items. Right now it's instant and 'magical' but I'm going to add a hudPrint and am trying to figure out how to make a sound play too.

User avatar
darkwuulf
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:51 am

Re: addItem issue

Post by darkwuulf » Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:36 am

@ScroLL - Of course I go an post my fix before trying your code. Much more elegant and worked fine.
ScroLL wrote:Does this work:

Code: Select all

dungeon_alcove_1.surface:addItem(spawn("xafi_khakis").item);

Post Reply