The One Room Round Robin 2 [PATCH 3b + SOURCES released]

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
Xanathar
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:19 am
Location: Torino, Italy
Contact:

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Discussion] *PATCH 1*

Post by Xanathar »

Thanks minmay for the report.. I'll check it. Anyway the intended effect of that action would be.. Horrible death ;)
Waking Violet (Steam, PS4, PSVita, Switch) : http://www.wakingviolet.com

The Sunset Gate [MOD]: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5563

My preciousss: http://www.moonsharp.org
minmay
Posts: 2768
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Discussion] *PATCH 1*

Post by minmay »

Another bug, in Isaac's room:
SpoilerShow
You can click on the hidden ladder and descend it without actually opening the secret door in front of it. This allows you to cleanse the foundry much earlier than you are supposed to.
edit: also seems that the
SpoilerShow
auto-smith starts with a H.O.G. already inside it, and the sixth lever already unlocked.
and
SpoilerShow
trying to smith a hand axe of frostbolt gave me a crash:

Code: Select all

#Isaac_auto_smith:87: undefined object: hand_axe*_frostbolt
stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'error'
	[string "ScriptEntity.lua"]: in function 'spawn'
	#Isaac_auto_smith:87: in function '_spawnFinishedItem'
	#Isaac_auto_smith:209: in function <#Isaac_auto_smith:209>
	#orrrManager:2178: in function 'update'
	#hooks:228: in function 'party_onDrawGui'
	mod_assets/scripts/party_hooks.lua:7: in function 'onDrawGui'
	[string "Party.lua"]: in main chunk
	[string "Map.lua"]: in function 'sendMessage'
	[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'display'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk
Another crash after leaving the foundry (after completing it) and attempting to reenter:
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

mod_assets/Isaac/scripts/objects.lua:35: duplicated entity id
stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'error'
	[string "ScriptEntity.lua"]: in function 'spawn'
	mod_assets/Isaac/scripts/objects.lua:35: in function 'onClose'
	[string "Door.lua"]: in main chunk
	[string "MessageSystem.lua"]: in function 'sendMessageToEntity'
	[string "MessageSystem.lua"]: in function 'broadcastMessage'
	[string "TriggerEvents.lua"]: in function 'fire'
	[string "Timer.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Map.lua"]: in function 'updateEntities'
	[string "Dungeon.lua"]: in function 'updateLevels'
	[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'display'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk
I could not get this crash to happen again. It was right after pressing the secret button at 18, 28 a bunch of times, but that didn't help me reproduce it.
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Discussion] *PATCH 1*

Post by Diarmuid »

minmay wrote:Another bug, in Isaac's room:
SpoilerShow
You can click on the hidden ladder and descend it without actually opening the secret door in front of it. This allows you to cleanse the foundry much earlier than you are supposed to.
edit: also seems that the
SpoilerShow
auto-smith starts with a H.O.G. already inside it, and the sixth lever already unlocked.
and
SpoilerShow
trying to smith a hand axe of frostbolt gave me a crash:

Code: Select all

#Isaac_auto_smith:87: undefined object: hand_axe*_frostbolt
stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'error'
	[string "ScriptEntity.lua"]: in function 'spawn'
	#Isaac_auto_smith:87: in function '_spawnFinishedItem'
	#Isaac_auto_smith:209: in function <#Isaac_auto_smith:209>
	#orrrManager:2178: in function 'update'
	#hooks:228: in function 'party_onDrawGui'
	mod_assets/scripts/party_hooks.lua:7: in function 'onDrawGui'
	[string "Party.lua"]: in main chunk
	[string "Map.lua"]: in function 'sendMessage'
	[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'display'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk
Another crash after leaving the foundry (after completing it) and attempting to reenter:
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

mod_assets/Isaac/scripts/objects.lua:35: duplicated entity id
stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'error'
	[string "ScriptEntity.lua"]: in function 'spawn'
	mod_assets/Isaac/scripts/objects.lua:35: in function 'onClose'
	[string "Door.lua"]: in main chunk
	[string "MessageSystem.lua"]: in function 'sendMessageToEntity'
	[string "MessageSystem.lua"]: in function 'broadcastMessage'
	[string "TriggerEvents.lua"]: in function 'fire'
	[string "Timer.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Map.lua"]: in function 'updateEntities'
	[string "Dungeon.lua"]: in function 'updateLevels'
	[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'display'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk
I could not get this crash to happen again. It was right after pressing the secret button at 18, 28 a bunch of times, but that didn't help me reproduce it.
Thanks minmay for all these reports, especially the fact I forgot some testing variables "on" in the room, which proposes it to player 75% solved.. :oops: :?

As this is not really a "just avoid doing that" case, I have to update the release to patch 1b. I'll get that uploaded later today, after I get those little mistakes corrected as well, and this time quadruple-check things before packing.
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Discussion] *PATCH 1*

Post by Diarmuid »

Allright fixed all of the above, and tested everything twice. For the rocks however, I'm stumped: it seems to count stacks perfectly. So I don't know why counts differ, one guess is that what happens is that something spawns "normal" rocks instead of "toCount" rocks in the course of the dungeon. I'll try to see what it is eventually, but it's not critical to fix right away. There's more rocks in the dungeon than required for the achievement anyway, so it's safe.
User avatar
SpiderFighter
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Discussion] *PATCH 1*

Post by SpiderFighter »

Diarmuid wrote:Allright fixed all of the above, and tested everything twice. For the rocks however, I'm stumped: it seems to count stacks perfectly. So I don't know why counts differ, one guess is that what happens is that something spawns "normal" rocks instead of "toCount" rocks in the course of the dungeon. I'll try to see what it is eventually, but it's not critical to fix right away. There's more rocks in the dungeon than required for the achievement anyway, so it's safe.
I'm not sure if this will help, but I've noticed that it does count (spoiler for my room):
SpoilerShow
my three special rocks; since the player needs to leave them behind, this would throw off the count by at least those three.
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Discussion] *PATCH 1*

Post by Diarmuid »

SpiderFighter wrote:
Diarmuid wrote:Allright fixed all of the above, and tested everything twice. For the rocks however, I'm stumped: it seems to count stacks perfectly. So I don't know why counts differ, one guess is that what happens is that something spawns "normal" rocks instead of "toCount" rocks in the course of the dungeon. I'll try to see what it is eventually, but it's not critical to fix right away. There's more rocks in the dungeon than required for the achievement anyway, so it's safe.
I'm not sure if this will help, but I've noticed that it does count (spoiler for my room):
SpoilerShow
my three special rocks; since the player needs to leave them behind, this would throw off the count by at least those three.
No matter, you don't need to hold on to the rocks, just to pick them up, so those 3 do count as well.

EDIT: I think I found it.
SpoilerShow
It was the breakable rubbe in jKos' room.
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Release] *PATCH 2*

Post by Diarmuid »

I uploaded the patch 2 to steam, but it didn't upload the correct version (I think I didn't press Ctrl-R to refresh the changes to the .lua files, I though it would do it automatically when exporting.) Now I'm trying to reupload the correct one but it keeps saying "upload failed - busy"... :(
User avatar
THOM
Posts: 1266
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:35 pm
Location: Germany - Cologne
Contact:

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Release] *PATCH 2*

Post by THOM »

One question concerning the patches: do I have to restart the game, when I want to play them or can I use my old savegames??
THOM formaly known as tschrage
_______________________________________________
My MOD (LoG1): Castle Ringfort Thread
My MOD (LoG2): Journey To Justice Thread | Download
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Release] *PATCH 2*

Post by Diarmuid »

tschrage wrote:One question concerning the patches: do I have to restart the game, when I want to play them or can I use my old savegames??
Unfortunately, due to the way Grimrock mods work, yes, you need to start a new game. But if you started a game with either the original or patch 1, please finish it! We're fixing bugs here and there, but we've all played it through and completed it in the non-patched versions. You can always replay it with a different party composition/skills in a patched version afterwards.

(Unless you're not very far, like only a few rooms completed, then you may prefer to restart)
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: The One Room Round Robin 2 [Release] *PATCH 2*

Post by Diarmuid »

Allright, I uninstalled and reinstalled grirmrock entierly, something got corrupted with my steam install somehow. Files are uploading both on steam and nexus and should be available in about 20 min maximum.

Changelog in the first post.
Post Reply