Windows 1.3.6 beta

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
Xanathar
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:19 am
Location: Torino, Italy
Contact:

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by Xanathar »

Probably it always worked this way, but if you type spawn("blueberry_pie") in the console in the main game it works AND unlocks the Steam achievement.

The same happens for party:setPosition(5, 20, 1, 1) which unlocks Dungeon Runner.
Waking Violet (Steam, PS4, PSVita, Switch) : http://www.wakingviolet.com

The Sunset Gate [MOD]: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5563

My preciousss: http://www.moonsharp.org
User avatar
Xanathar
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:19 am
Location: Torino, Italy
Contact:

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by Xanathar »

Party:setPosition(x, y, level, facing), Monster:setPosition(x, y, level, facing),
At least for monster (but I guess also for party) it is:

Monster:setPosition(x, y, facing, level)

That is, facing and level swapped.

(BTW: my phase spider prototype is working now!, thanks for these!)
Waking Violet (Steam, PS4, PSVita, Switch) : http://www.wakingviolet.com

The Sunset Gate [MOD]: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5563

My preciousss: http://www.moonsharp.org
User avatar
Xanathar
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:19 am
Location: Torino, Italy
Contact:

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by Xanathar »

Other notes (sorry :) ):

Low quality rendering works well and does wonders on my super-cpu-crappy-gpu laptop :)
However for some reasons, Alt+Tab from the fullscreen game seems to work worse (I can switch application but the game remains on top).
Waking Violet (Steam, PS4, PSVita, Switch) : http://www.wakingviolet.com

The Sunset Gate [MOD]: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5563

My preciousss: http://www.moonsharp.org
User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by petri »

The export dialog is now fixed in Steam. The version number is still the same (1.3.6).

I think I had a temporary shortage of Glögg at some point and I forgot to add "class" property for Door entities (other entities should work ok). Unfortunately we will not make a patch for this as it would be a major hassle to update all SKUs just for this (the downside of supporting multiple platforms). But I've added it to the fix list for next version. Sorry about that!

Same thing with width and height properties of gui context having incorrect values in small preview window.

Unless no new critical bugs are found this will be the final version.
User avatar
Grimwold
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:45 pm
Location: A Dungeon somewhere in the UK

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by Grimwold »

petri wrote: Unless no new critical bugs are found this will be the final version.
Grimwold wrote:This may be a bug.. I went into options and changed the rendering quality to low... which immediately crashed grimrock... now I can't load the game at all because it crashes every time.
This was a pretty critical bug for me... I still can't activate low rendering quality on this PC (although I can manually change the rendering quality in the config to get back into the game)
User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by petri »

Do you happen to have a crash log? The low quality mode uses OpenGL rendering so you might want to check that your graphics card and drivers support OpenGL.
User avatar
Grimwold
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:45 pm
Location: A Dungeon somewhere in the UK

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by Grimwold »

According to DoctorGL my graphics card does support OpenGL

Code: Select all

Video Card Vendor:    ATI Technologies Inc.
Renderer:             ATI Radeon X1550 Series    
OpenGL Version:       2.1.7659 Release
GLU Version:          1.2.2.0 Microsoft Corporation
contents of event viewer event

Code: Select all

Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Error
Date:          19/12/2012 09:40:57
Event ID:      1000
Task Category: (100)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      ABV.win2k.com
Description:
Faulting application grimrock.exe, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x50d1722d, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x00000000, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x00000000, process id 0x17a8, application start time 0x01cdddccf023e894.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-12-19T09:40:57.000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>71860</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>ABV.win2k.com</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data>grimrock.exe</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>50d1722d</Data>
    <Data>unknown</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>00000000</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>00000000</Data>
    <Data>17a8</Data>
    <Data>01cdddccf023e894</Data>
  </EventData>
</Event>
User avatar
Asteroth
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:41 am
Location: Eastern U.S.

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by Asteroth »

What is onDrawGui and how does it work? I am so very bad at scripting and coding.
I am the God of darkness and corruption.
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=4250
User avatar
Dr.Disaster
Posts: 2874
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by Dr.Disaster »

Grimwold wrote:According to DoctorGL my graphics card does support OpenGL

Code: Select all

Video Card Vendor:    ATI Technologies Inc.
Renderer:             ATI Radeon X1550 Series    
OpenGL Version:       2.1.7659 Release
GLU Version:          1.2.2.0 Microsoft Corporation
I confirm there seems to be a problem when Render Quality is set to "Low". Just tested 1.3.6 on my old XP PC with it's nVidia GeForce 7600 GT. According to DoctorGL it supports OpenGL 2.1.2.

When i'm in the Main Menu and switch Render Quality from "High" to "Low" and press apply, LoG keeps running (music plays) but beside the mouse pointer all my screen is completely black. The only way to get out is Alt-TAB, so i can kill grimrock.exe via the Task Manager.

When i'm in a game and switch Render Quality from "High" to "Low", Log crashed with an application error caused by msvcr100.dll.

EDIT
Funny things happening here .. now Render Quality "Low" works! Perhaps the grimrock.cfg file needed to be re-written by 1.3.6?
I edited it manually twice to get LoG back to normal display and had kept it open in editor; maybe that's why it crashed twice.

Still: when Render Quality is set to "Low" and i hit Alt-TAB now my desktop is gone! All i get is the XP taskbar with all already running applications, but no more desktop. Clicking on supposed-to-be desktop brings me back to LoG. When Render Quality is set back to "High", all is fine again. Weird!

EDIT 2
One more tiny info, not really important but maybe helpful: after switching Render Quality a few times LoG crashes with an D3D Out of Video Memory Error. My GT 7600 GT has 256 MB of Video RAM
User avatar
Soaponarope
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:21 am

Re: Windows 1.3.6 beta

Post by Soaponarope »

Since the patch my dungeon is a mess due to object positions being moved. Seems directional facing support was given to more objects such as ceiling tiles, and anything with an altered y axis has to be repositioned. Some I can fix by just setting everything to 0 facing instead, but it seems some models need to be redone. Am I missing something here, or do I just have a lot of busy work to do?
Post Reply