[MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
xhantos
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:39 pm

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by xhantos » Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:41 am

hyppyp wrote:' In the end, it's just the difference between a good game and a REALLY good one. Your choice, o mighty one!
Agreed, but I think in the end what we all want is a fair game. If there are enough clues, I don't mind the puzzles being hard - solving a hard puzzle gives more enjoyment than solving an easy one.

Eventually there will be walkthroughs and assuming I will miss some secrets and won't be able to solve some puzzles, I will decide if the puzzles I failed to solve are fair or not. So far I'm happy with the ones I've been able to solve, as anyone would expect.

User avatar
zeltak
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by zeltak » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:08 am

xhantos wrote:BTW, if gear necklaces had descriptions it would be nice, even if something (useless but atmosphere building) like 'strange necklace with a solid feel to it' etc.
You're right. Have to think about it. I just used the in-built asset, without modifying it anyway. But as it is a new one in a sense as it wasn't used in the original (or if it was, then I didn't find it..), it might have been a good thing to add something to it. Every new asset has description on them.

And hey Hyppyp, I'm not crowning myself or anything, I was referring to a larger group.. ..but then again 'o mighty one' sounds good though :twisted:
But on the level 7 puzzle, I can only refer to those who have commented on it and told me how they have started to solve it.. and yes, couple of them have been quite complicated considering the nature of the puzzle and the elements on it.. of course I'm reading the comments and if it proves to be too difficult to most, then I have to think it through again. But it has been solved, I can't say many times as I've been getting comments only from the handful few, but it has been.

About a walkthrough: I don't think it's my duty to write one. I think it would make the whole puzzle making and in some way the whole dungeon pointless. If someone wants to write one, then be my quest, I'm not against it, I just feel that it's not my job to write one.

User avatar
xhantos
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:39 pm

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by xhantos » Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:12 pm

zeltak wrote:But on the level 7 puzzle,
Can you just let me know if the puzzle is self contained on the level, or if it is multi-level puzzle?

Here is what I can think of so far:
SpoilerShow
There are 5 historical scrolls (which have an order) and a clue that order matters.

There are 4 rooms with buttons:

(1) Helmet room, 2 buttons

(2) Staff room
[Scroll 3] because you try to decide which grate to attack first.

(3) Poison room
[Scroll 4] because mentions poison and useless blades when trapped in there.

(4) Sword room with Uggardian
[Scroll 5] because mentions uggardian...

There are 5 scrolls, 5 years is mentioned and there are 5 buttons...
Last edited by xhantos on Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
zeltak
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by zeltak » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:17 pm

xhantos:

Have you tried to experiment with it? I mean your logic is good, don't be afraid to try things out.
SpoilerShow
And yes, everything you need to solve the puzzle is on that level. And the puzzle itself is contained on that level
My previous message with spoilers contains couple of hints for that level.

User avatar
xhantos
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:39 pm

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by xhantos » Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:32 pm

Thanks Zeltak.

Unfortunately at this time I'm quitting until. hopefully, someone posts the solution. I've tried all combinations I could think of - maybe I made a mistake somewhere.

My favorite puzzle has been
SpoilerShow
Closing the pit on level 6 to the spider area, because it was so simple, obvious, yet hard (for me).
Also I don't know if it is intended but
SpoilerShow
again on level 6, in the north-east room, you can go south through the walls without opening the wall via the button.

User avatar
zeltak
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by zeltak » Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:33 pm

Ok, I hear your pain.

Updated to version 1.1 (previous version should have been 1.0.1, it was mislabelled to 1.01) to both steam and nexus.
- added sound cues to level 7 puzzle
- bugfix: there were couple of walls you could walk through on level 6 (Thank you xhantos, this was not intended. It was left over from a trap the room housed previously)

User avatar
hyppyp
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:01 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by hyppyp » Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:30 pm

Hallelujah! :)

User avatar
zeltak
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by zeltak » Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:44 pm

Hotfix uploaded to both steam and nexus. There was a potentially game crashing script error on level 6, which is now fixed. Thanks hyppyp for finding it.

User avatar
xhantos
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:39 pm

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by xhantos » Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:34 am

zeltak wrote: - added sound cues to level 7 puzzle
I'm not hearing any :( Maybe it's a bug. Can someone let me know the necessary steps to hear one?

User avatar
zeltak
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [MOD] Shadows of Grim Moon

Post by zeltak » Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:45 am

xhantos wrote:
zeltak wrote: - added sound cues to level 7 puzzle
I'm not hearing any :( Maybe it's a bug. Can someone let me know the necessary steps to hear one?
This is quite a big spoiler as this reveals the first step of the puzzle:
SpoilerShow
Go press the button in the room with the daemon head. Then press it again. Can you hear the difference? There's a definitive click, when you're doing the right thing.
It has been brought to my attention that the first door can be opened the wrong way. I'm not uploading a fix yet, as there's been quite a few bug findings in a short span of time. I'm waiting a little longer, if anything else shows up. Also I've streamlined couple of other scripts, but they can wait.

Post Reply