[DONE] Grimrock Model Tookit

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Batty
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Batty » Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:14 pm

Geistertanz wrote:As I am using the old Dungeon Master shop keeper as a placeholder
I''m naming him Sid.

User avatar
Tomm
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:15 pm

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Tomm » Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:20 pm

I'm using the latest version of blender. So I tried to export it as you suggested and still can't see anything, also there are no nodes.. funny thing is it didn't crash, it just imported "nothing" :)
Can anyone else try to import this cube please?

It will sound lame, but I can't find the toolkit folder to send you the console.log since it installed itself automatically and I'm running it from the start menu.

AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\John Wordsworth
is this the right directory?

User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Neikun » Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:39 pm

Tomm wrote:I'm using the latest version of blender. So I tried to export it as you suggested and still can't see anything, also there are no nodes.. funny thing is it didn't crash, it just imported "nothing" :)
Can anyone else try to import this cube please?

It will sound lame, but I can't find the toolkit folder to send you the console.log since it installed itself automatically and I'm running it from the start menu.

AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\John Wordsworth
is this the right directory?
I did it just fine. It shows up like a white screen at first because you have to zoom out with your mouse wheel.
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!

User avatar
Tomm
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:15 pm

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Tomm » Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:52 pm

Now that's weird. I tried zooming in and out, but still can't see the cube.. and it makes sense because I cant see any nodes either.

User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Neikun » Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:05 pm

That is indeed odd. When I viewed the file there was the root node and one other.
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!

User avatar
JohnWordsworth
Posts: 1387
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:19 pm
Location: Devon, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by JohnWordsworth » Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:20 pm

Hmm, very strange indeed! I too am able to open that .OBJ file, and while it initially looks broken (as the screen is grey) that's just unfortunate in how the cube is positioned and rendered. You can zoom out with the mouse wheel or rotate to see that it's there.

Sorry to hammer on about versions, but the only thing I can think of is that something somewhere has got confused and perhaps you are running an old version of the software? You should now see the version number in the window title bar when the app is running, so the main window title should be Grimrock Model Toolkit (0.1.0.6).

You're right - finding the console.log file is actually a mission. I'm still getting my head around the 'Click Once' thing and it seems to do all sorts of crazy stuff when installing it (making it's own random folder names in C:\Users\<USER>\AppData\Local\Apps\2.0\<CRAZY_DIR_NAME>\<CRAZY_DIR_NAME>\app.exe. As the developer, I usually run it from my dev folder instead of installing it. I'll add a button to the Help menu for the latest build to get that log file easily.
My Grimrock Projects Page with links to the Grimrock Model Toolkit, GrimFBX, Atlas Toolkit, QuickBar, NoteBook and the Oriental Weapons Pack.

User avatar
Skuggasveinn
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:28 pm

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Skuggasveinn » Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:35 pm

Tomm I was having the same issue, when I imported obj back into the GMT from blender I thought that nothing had been imported, but thats not the case, the model is there, its simply HUGE. So huge that I had to edit the Node Transforms not with 0,1 but with 0,00001 to get it into a size that is about the same as the orginal model. (but you said that you don't see the nodes right ? so maybe you are having another issue).

I'm trying to figure out why the size is so gigantic when coming back from blender, but so far no luck, but scaling the model down in GMT seems to be working.
Link to all my LoG 2 assets on Nexus.
Link to all my LoG 1 assets on Nexus.

User avatar
Tomm
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:15 pm

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Tomm » Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:43 pm

@Skuggasveinn: if only I had those nodes in there :P

Just checked and I'm running 0.1.0.6, any .obj I try to import is just empty.. still thinking about some dependencies, or maybe another version of .Net framework ? dunno.

Batty
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Batty » Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:46 pm

I just imported the cube. I had to zoom out it seems to import at full zoom, it also says "No File Loaded" in the lower left corner although it seems to have loaded fine.

User avatar
JohnWordsworth
Posts: 1387
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:19 pm
Location: Devon, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by JohnWordsworth » Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:49 pm

@Tomm: You don't happen to be using a Network Shared drive or anything? I'm kind of clutching at straws here, but maybe try saving the object to somewhere really obvious like C:/ or just the base of My Documents? Perhaps the app is having trouble opening the file because of file permissions and my app isn't reporting the error correctly?
My Grimrock Projects Page with links to the Grimrock Model Toolkit, GrimFBX, Atlas Toolkit, QuickBar, NoteBook and the Oriental Weapons Pack.

Post Reply