[DONE] Grimrock Model Tookit

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
Bek
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:39 am

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Bek » Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:04 am

juho wrote:LOL. I totally forgot I did those lanterns :D
Shh, just pretend they're extra special content made especially for the modding community ;)

User avatar
juho
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:18 pm

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by juho » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:25 pm

Bek wrote:Shh, just pretend they're extra special content made especially for the modding community ;)
Oh, yeah... So... you're welcome community! :D
Follow me on Twitter: @JuhoMakingStuff

User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Neikun » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:27 pm

I also found the wall_fountain.model
I turned it into an alcove since it doesn't make water. =D

Code: Select all

defineObject{
	name = "wall_fountain",
	class = "Alcove",
	anchorPos = vec(0, 1.0, -0.2),
	targetPos = vec(0, 1.0, -0.2),
	targetSize = vec(0.3, 0.3, 0.3),
	model = "assets/models/env/wall_fountain.fbx",
	placement = "wall",
	replacesWall = false,
	editorIcon = 92,
}
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!

User avatar
djoldgames
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by djoldgames » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:14 pm

juho wrote:LOL. I totally forgot I did those lanterns :D
Yup, and these your models (lantern, funtain) still contains some strange nodes like Cube, Camera and Directional Light :)
(use blender for modeling?)

User avatar
antti
Posts: 685
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by antti » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:23 pm

djoldgames wrote:
juho wrote:LOL. I totally forgot I did those lanterns :D
Yup, and these your models (lantern, funtain) still contains some strange nodes like Cube, Camera and Directional Light :)
(use blender for modeling?)
Modo puts a camera and a directional light in to the scenes by default (they can of course be deleted though).
Steven Seagal of gaming industry

User avatar
JohnWordsworth
Posts: 1387
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:19 pm
Location: Devon, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by JohnWordsworth » Sat Sep 29, 2012 2:45 pm

Back from a couple of awesome days at the Eurogamer Expo playing Halo 4, Hitman Absolution and Gears of War Judgement. Have made some tweaks to GMT this morning that should fix a bunch of issues with importing/exporting custom models through the OBJ format. There were issues loading normals and texture coordinates that should be resolved now. Main changes in version 0.1.0.6 include:
  • UV coordinates are flipped so textures applied to the OBJ file should just work (as long as they are converted to DDS format with MipMaps).
  • There were problems importing/exporting normals which I believe to be resolved now.
  • All debug information is written to console.log in the same folder that the application exists. This is deleted whenever the app restarts. While it will have a minor impact on performance, it should help me debug any crashing errors much easier. If you have any problems, please send this file (or it's contents) to me!
  • Added an about box with a link to this post and the download page.
  • This build really should add auto-updating through ClickOnce, so when 0.1.0.7 comes out, it should download automagically.
As per usual, here is a screenshot. Table and Mace were both downloaded from TurboSquid, although both needed some crazy manual editing of the transform matrix (but you could scale and rotate it in Blender). Just downloaded a random wood texture from the internet for the table. When exporting OBJ files from Blender, it's wise to tick the 'Export Normals' - Blender will do a better job of generating normals from the model than my shoddy averaging code.

Image

Download Page | Direct Download
My Grimrock Projects Page with links to the Grimrock Model Toolkit, GrimFBX, Atlas Toolkit, QuickBar, NoteBook and the Oriental Weapons Pack.

User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Komag » Sat Sep 29, 2012 3:06 pm

that looks great, can't wait to use stuff like this in dungeons, have some truly new and unique items and furniture
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play

User avatar
Geistertanz
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:04 am
Location: NRW, Germany

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Geistertanz » Sat Sep 29, 2012 3:12 pm

Works like a charm!

Here is my WIP-shop alcove.
SpoilerShow
Image
As I am using the old Dungeon Master shop keeper as a placeholder until I find a better and free alternative, here is what I did:

1)
Open "assets/model/env/dungeon_wall_alcove.model" with the Model Tool Kit.

2)
Replace the "brick_ceiling01" material (that's the back of the alcove) with "alcove_shop_keeper".

3)
Save the model as "YOURMOD/mod_assets/model/env/dungeon_wall_shop.model".

4)
Add a new objekt in your mod's "objects.lua".

Code: Select all

cloneObject{
   name = "dungeon_shop",
   baseObject = "dungeon_alcove",
   model = "mod_assets/models/env/dungeon_wall_shop.fbx",
}
5)
Define a new material in your "materials.lua".

Code: Select all

defineMaterial{
	name = "alcove_shop_keeper",
	diffuseMap = "mod_assets/textures/env/alcove_shop_keeper_dif.tga",
	specularMap = "mod_assets/textures/env/alcove_shop_keeper_spec.tga",
	normalMap = "mod_assets/textures/env/alcove_shop_keeper_normal.tga",
	doubleSided = false,
	lighting = true,
	alphaTest = false,
	blendMode = "Opaque",
	textureAddressMode = "Wrap",
	glossiness = 20,
	depthBias = 0,
}
6)
Copy the following existing textures
  • dungeon_ceiling_dif.dds
    dungeon_ceiling_normal.dds
    dungeon_ceiling_spec.dds
into your "YOURMOD/mod_assets/textures/env" folder and rename them as:
  • alcove_shop_keeper_dif.dds
    alcove_shop_keeper_normal.dds
    alcove_shop_keeper_spec.dds
7)
Edit the new textures to your liking. Be aware that the alcove is displayed upside down and the only displayed part is the rectangle in the middle. If you use Paint.net, be sure to save the texture as "DXT5 interpolated alpha" and check both the mipmaps and the alpha box at the bottom of the screen.

User avatar
Tomm
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:15 pm

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by Tomm » Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:00 pm

This time it didn't throw an error but I couldn't see my imported .obj. No idea what I'm doing wrong.

It says "No file loaded" in the bottom left corner.

User avatar
JohnWordsworth
Posts: 1387
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:19 pm
Location: Devon, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [WIP] Grimrock Model Tookit

Post by JohnWordsworth » Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:12 pm

@komag: Yeah, from what I've seen already on the forums, I can't wait to play some of the mods we start seeing at some point!

@djoldgames: Haha, that's a great idea - and it looks awesome the way he's just sitting there behind the alcove. I know it's unlikely, but it would be awesome if Almost Human added a dialog box option to the Lua scripting, where you could define up to X buttons and have them feedback to the Lua function. Then you could have a simple but full on shop!

@Tomm: Hmm, a couple of suggestions.

1. Are you using the latest version of Blender and when you export to OBJ, I would expect the best results to come if you have ticked at least: Include Edges, Include Normals, Include UVs, Triangulate Faces in the Export panel.

2. When you have imported the model, if you go to "Tools -> Edit Node Transform Dialog" do you see any nodes? It might be that your model is just bigger than the viewport, and as the polygons will only render from outside - if the camera is essentially stuck inside the model - you will not see anything at all. However, the nodes "RootNode" and "MainObject" should appear in the Model Node dropdown. If you do see those, try changing the matrix for MainObject to...

Code: Select all

0.1   0     0     0
0      0.1  0     0
0      0     0.1  0
Which will scale the model down.

3. If those fail, then there is still something strange going on with the import code. Do you have a console.log file in the folder into which you installed the Model Toolkit? If so, it would be great if you could send that over to me with the OBJ file that causes it to crash!

Edit: It will actually say "No file loaded" if you open a new document and click "Import OBJ". I guess I should be more explicit - that message at the bottom refers to the last .model file you opened. I'll tweak that to make it more logical in a future version!
My Grimrock Projects Page with links to the Grimrock Model Toolkit, GrimFBX, Atlas Toolkit, QuickBar, NoteBook and the Oriental Weapons Pack.

Post Reply