Fake walls??

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
User avatar
crisman
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 9:23 pm
Location: Italy

Fake walls??

Post by crisman » Sun Sep 23, 2012 1:06 am

Hi everyone

first of all, sorry if my english is bad.
I've discovered how to create fake walls (you can see the wall, but you can pass through it as nothing is there) without using any sort of scripts or custom assets.
And no, I did not have the 'no collision' on while testing this...
All you need to do is to place 2 secret doors at the same spot, and set one of them as open.
One of them will be fake, while the other will act like a regular door.
Yes, it's a pretty nice effect, usefull for creating secrets really hard to find :mrgreen:
But this bug ruined my floor...
The reason I've stacked two secret door in one spot is because I'm building a 3-maze in 1. Basically you can change the maze by pressing a button.
And for scripting reason I had to stack the doors together.
The multi-maze works, but due to this bug is completely ruined.
Any idea how to fix this, or do I have to manually scripting every door opening or closing (probably I guess...)??
Thanks!

User avatar
Edsploration
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:32 pm

Re: Fake walls??

Post by Edsploration » Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:25 am

I ran into this behavior when placing portcullis and gratings on top of each other. You can actually make it pass-through OR solid depending on which you place first. So if you want the wall to be solid, you should place the closed door first. And place the open door first if you want it to be a fake wall.
Open Project -> Community FrankenDungeon: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=4276

User avatar
Montis
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:25 am
Location: Grimrock II 2nd playthrough (hard/oldschool)

Re: Fake walls??

Post by Montis » Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:56 am

Sounds like a bug :)
When destiny calls, the chosen have no choice.

My completed dungeon (LoG1): Hypercube

Post Reply