How to change the console activation key

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

How to change the console activation key

Post by petri » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:00 pm

Pro tip, to change the key binding for accessing console do the following:

Open grimrock.cfg in Documents\Almost Human\Legend of Grimrock and look for "consoleKey" field. The value of the key is a Windows Virtual Key Code. A list of keycodes can be found e.g. here.

Currently the console can be opened by pressing § key on the keyboard (on finnish keyboard the key just above Tab) which might be a bit awkward to some :)

User avatar
Jack Dandy
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:22 pm
Location: Haifa, Israel

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by Jack Dandy » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:09 pm

The "consolekey" isn't in the .cfg file. Should I just add "consoleKey", or will it do no good?

User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by petri » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:10 pm

Ah, you can just add it there. E.g. "consoleKey = 115" binds it to f4

User avatar
Jack Dandy
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:22 pm
Location: Haifa, Israel

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by Jack Dandy » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:17 pm

Okay, that worked, thanks.

User avatar
Shadowfied
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:42 pm

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by Shadowfied » Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:11 am

Nothing happens when I hit F4, I did add the line to the cfg...

User avatar
ShadowTigerZC
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:45 am

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by ShadowTigerZC » Sun Sep 16, 2012 12:06 am

The codes on the post in the first post appear to be in Hex. Neat. You can use this converter to turn 0x43 into 67 for example and put that at the end of consolekey = and it may work. Because 0x27 corresponds to 39, which I see mapped to the appropriate key. Okay then.

So I think, put in 192 for the Console Key. It corresponds to the Tilde on the American Keyboard.

EDIT: Yes, 192 works for the Tilde. I went into preview mode, hit Tilde, and the console popped up. So yes, I am quite chuffed. Thanks for your patience.

User avatar
Daght
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:28 pm
Location: Italy

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by Daght » Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:53 am

I got this .cfg file, but the ConsoleKey doesn't work.

Code: Select all

-- options
resolution = "1600 x 900"
displayMode = 1
verticalSync = 2
textureResolution = 3
textureFilter = 3
shadowQuality = 3
ssaoQuality = 3
muteMusic = false
muteSounds = false
musicVolume = 1
soundVolume = 1
arrowIcons = false
disableDamageTexts = false
hideItemProperties = false
mouseLook = true
invertX = false
invertY = false
autoSave = true
cameraBobbing = true
tooltipDelay = 0
maxFrameRate = 120
debugInfo = false
console = true
consoleKey = 45
If we do not end the war, the war will end us.

User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3637
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by Komag » Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:25 am

so, to reiterate:

- don't have Grimrock or the editor running (not sure if this step is necessary)
- go to Documents\Almost Human\Legend of Grimrock
- open grimrock.cfg (with notepad)
- at the bottom (or anywhere) add the line:

Code: Select all

consoleKey = 192
192 should make the American Keyboard ~ (tilde) key open the console
or this:

Code: Select all

consoleKey = 115
115 should make F4 open the console
- save the grimrock.cfg file
- start Grimrock, fire up the editor, test it out

EDIT - to also use the console in the game (not just editor) add this line to the grimrock.cfg as well:

Code: Select all

console = true
Last edited by Komag on Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play

User avatar
Montis
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:25 am
Location: Grimrock II 2nd playthrough (hard/oldschool)

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by Montis » Sun Sep 16, 2012 12:40 pm

If you want the console to work in the game, you have to set

Code: Select all

console = true
in the grimrock.cfg as well.
When destiny calls, the chosen have no choice.

My completed dungeon (LoG1): Hypercube

User avatar
Lark
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:23 pm
Location: Springfield, MO USA

Re: How to change the console activation key

Post by Lark » Sun Sep 23, 2012 3:14 am

Thanks to everyone for the information. I now have the console activated with ~ (tilda), but only F1 (toggle collisions) appears to do anything. I read a post somewhere that F11 should open a minimap and right or left clicking on wall segments would make them "real" or "fake" - I'd like to experiment with this, but I can't get the minimap - any ideas what I'm doing wrong? Thank you!

Post Reply