Receptor Accepting skulls

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
zanreth

Receptor Accepting skulls

Post by zanreth »

Hello all,
Newbie here (sort of, more like returning to modding after a hiatus), trying to code my way through a custom dungeon creation.

I need help with a bit of scripting, or any other way to make work what I'd like to do: A two "locks" combo to make an open trap, close.

So far, I've got the dungeon_pit installed with the "open" set.
I have a lock nearby, accepting brass_key, connected to a counter. The lock decrements the counter by one.
I have the counter, with a set number of 2, which decrements to zero when both connected locks have been activated. The counter connects to the trap to close when reaches zero.
Here's the catch: My second lock, I'd like it to be a receptor (named receptor_alpha) that works with skulls. If a skull is "inserted" in the receptor, then it decrements my counter, just like a normal lock.

So, I've been fooling around with scripting lua to get my "receptor_alpha" to accept skulls instead of blobs, and get it connected to my counter to decrements.

Not succeeding :-(

Help???

Regards,

Zanreth
THOM

Re: Receptor Accepting skulls

Post by THOM »

I think, the predefined receptor as it is doesn't work for that, therefore it doesn't accept items. I think you have to add a socket-object on the same square which can hold your skull (and trigger your counter).
THOM formaly known as tschrage

Post by trancelistic »

Not sure if this is what you are looking for ( did it by head ( with help from others, who showed me stuff like this, credits goes to them)

BUt I think this will work: ( not tested)

Code: Select all

defineObject{
	name = "receptor_skull",
	class = "Alcove",
	model = "assets/models/env/spell_receptor.fbx",
	replacesWall = false,
	--anchorPos = vec(0, 1, -0.17),
	--targetPos = vec(0,0.88,-0.25),
	--targetSize = vec(0.6, 0.5, 0.6),
	placement = "wall",