Hard Mode. 4 Mages. 1st Time.

This is the forum for helping you out if you're stuck or if you want to discuss the nitty gritty details of the dungeons within Mount Grimrock. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Endarire

Hard Mode. 4 Mages. 1st Time.

Post by Endarire »

Greetings, all!

I was inspired by Mage 201 to make my very first ever party all Mages because magic is conceptually and usually mechanically awesome! However, I'm a total newbie to Legend of Grimrock and the farthest I've gotten before today is saving my game on the very first tile after making a party and watching the intro sequence.

I chose Hard difficulty, because if I'm gonna only play this game once, I may as well really play it! (I played through Dragon Age: Origins on Nightmare my first time through. Again, a party of as many Mages as I could.) Since this is my first time, please don't spoil things for me! If there's a good reason to say, ignore Willpower, just tell me that. I may ask why if it seems unreasonable, but "wait and see" is a valid answer.

ONE THING I MUST KNOW: I don't know Evasion fully works. Higher Evasion is better, yes, but is each point of Evasion a 1% chance to avoid something? How important are DEX and the Evasive trait for a party of Mages?

My planned party is:

Stonewall, Minotaur Earth Mage - Default Front Liner
60 HP
60 EP
0 Evasion

STR: 15 (0 points)
DEX: 6 (0 points)
VIT: 20 (6 points)
WIL: 14 (4 points)

TRAITS:
Skilled
Strong Mind

SKILLS:
Earth Magic 2
Spellcraft 2

NOTES:
Stonewall is the party's VIT-based tank and Earth Mage. He'll be able to cast something come level 2.

I maxed VIT since he's the HP tank and put the rest into WIL since he's a Mage. His default STR is enough. I'm not sure about his DEX since I don't know Evasion fully works. Higher Evasion is better, yes, but is each point of Evasion a 1% chance to avoid something?

Wispy, Lizardman Air Mage - Default Front Liner
35 HP
65 EP
14 Evasion

STR: 10 (0 points)
DEX: 18 (6 points)